Monday, September 24, 2018

Applications Open for 2019 AASL Awards

Applications for the 2019 awards season are now available! AASL members are encouraged to nominate a colleague or themselves to be lauded for their outstanding talent and dedication to the profession as part of this prestigious program. AASL awards and grants recognize excellence and showcase best practices in the school library field in categories that include collaboration, leadership and innovation.


National School Library of the Year Award, sponsored by Follett
Awards $10,000 and a crystal obelisk, to a school library that meets the needs of the changing school and library environment and is fully integrated into the school's curriculum
Distinguished Service Award, sponsored by Rosen
Awards $3,000 to an individual member of the library profession who has, over a significant period of time, made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development.
Affiliate of the Year Award
Awards a $1,000 stipend to the AASL Affiliate most active and dynamic in achieving the goals of AASL at the state and local level.
Collaborative School Library Award, sponsored by Upstart
Awards $2,500, to a partnership between school librarians and educators in meeting goals outlined in AASL's "National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries" through joint planning of a program, unit or event in support of the curriculum and using school library resources.
Distinguished School Administrator Award, sponsored by ProQuest
Awards $2,000 to a school administrator who has made worthy contributions to the operations of an exemplary school library and to advancing the role of the school library in the educational program.
Frances Henne Award, sponsored by ABC-CLIO
Awards a school librarian with five or fewer years in the field $1,250 to attend an ALA Annual Conference or AASL National Conference for the first time.
Intellectual Freedom Award, sponsored by ProQuest
Awards $2,000 to the recipient and $1,000 to the school library of the winner's choice, in recognition of upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and ALA.
Roald Dahl's Miss Honey Social Justice Award, sponsored by Penguin Random House
Awards $8,000 in funds and books to AASL members who have collaboratively designed a lesson, event, or course of study on social justice exemplified by a character from Roald Dahl's books.


ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant, sponsored by ABC-CLIO
Awards up to $1,750, to a school library association that is an AASL affiliate for planning and implementing a leadership program at the state, regional or local levels
Innovative Reading Grant, sponsored by Capstone
Awards $2,500 to fund literacy projects for grades K-9 that promote the importance of reading and facilitate literacy development by supporting current reading research, practice and policy.
Inspire Collection Development Grant, sponsored by Marina "Marney" Welmers
Awards up to $5,000 to public middle or high schools to extend, update, and diversify their book, online, subscription and/or software collections in order to realize sustainable improvement in student achievement.
Inspire Special Event Grant, sponsored by Marina "Marney" Welmers
Awards up to $2,000 to public middle or high schools to create new or enhance existing extracurricular activities in order to increase student academic achievement.
Past-Presidents Planning Grant for National School Library Standards
sponsored by Roger & Susan D. Ballard and Cassandra Barnett

Annually awards $2,500 to three AASL affiliates to plan and execute an event, initiative, or activity focused on the implementation of the new AASL "National School Library Standards." Grants are presented in honor of AASL past-presidents.
The Ruth Toor Grant for Strong Public School Libraries, sponsored by Jay Toor
Awards $5,000 in funding and travel for the creation and implementation of a local public awareness/marketing campaign that promotes and positions their school library as a necessary resource in the community.

Friday, September 21, 2018

#WEMTA19 Call for Proposals

#WEMTA19 is happening March 31st - April 1st in Wisconsin Dells at Kalahari Resort and we want you to present! Have more than one idea for a session? New this year, if more than one of your sessions are selected, you will receive a bigger presenter discount. 

Poster session

$15 off for primary presenter or $30 off for primary presenter if presenting at both poster sessions

1 session

$50 off for primary presenter

2 sessions

$100 off for primary presenter

3 sessions

$150 off for primary presenter

4 sessions

Free for primary presenter

You can find the complete directions for submitting your proposals here. Questions? Email